Allreaders.com

Changing Woman Book Review Summary

Detailed Plot Synopsis of Changing Woman

Life on the Navaho reservation in New Mexico is never easy but this winter is particularly hard. The weather is abnormally cold, unemployment is up, and many people are forced to choose between eating and heating up their homes. The Tribal Council, responsible for the welfare of the people on the reservation, debates whether to legalize gambling as a way of bringing in revenue.
   
Navaho Special Investigator Ella Clah knows that the Indian Mafia is behind the wave of vandalism that is concentrated in the Shiprock area. The thugs hope to intimidate the people and the Tribal Council to vote for gambling and they are willing to escalate the level of violence to achieve their goals. Between tracking down the leaders of the criminal element and avoiding snipers and other assaults on her life, Ella has a thirty-six hour day just staying alive.
   
Amy and David Thurlo have created a mystery series that gets better with each book written though the previous novels are all top quality. Ella Clah is a fascinating character who endears herself to the audience by adhering true to her values even defending the rights of those who disagree with her. Fans of Tony Hillerman and Southwest mysteries will appreciate CHANGING WOMAN.

Harriet Klausner
This report prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of Changing Woman

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book descript. of violence and chases 10%Planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 60%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 20%How society works & physical descript. (people, objects, places) 10% Crime Thriller    -   Yes General Crime (including known murderer)    -   Yes Who's the criminal enemy here?    -   breaking up mobsters

Main Character

Profession/status:    -   police/lawman

Setting

United States    -   Yes The US:    -   West

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment Amount of dialog    -   significantly more dialog than descript

Books with storylines, themes & endings like Changing Woman

Aimee and David Thurlo Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or




Feedback


Our Chief Librarian