Allreaders.com

Godcountry Book Review Summary

Detailed Plot Synopsis of Godcountry



Novel Books, Nov 2002, 202 pp.
ISBN 1591050278

In the far distant future, mankind has colonized so many planets in so many galaxies that humanity is beginning to mutate. On earth many areas are radioactive and the poor sell their children into slavery. Eduardo Sabat was once a slave of the criminal Feullier Corporation but his slaveband went inactive when the company's computers were destroyed. He is now a registered mercenary who has been hired to do a search and rescue operation.

The son of the Hithian's Autarch has been arrested on the planet Quele, held captive by the religious priest who will kill him for not worshipping their pagan gods. Sabat, who has worked as a tomb raider in Godcountry, is invaluable to the team for few know how to survive in that area. Getting into Godcountry proves almost impossible because enemies both known and those hidden in shadows try to stop him. That seems as easy as 1 2 3 when compared to escaping from the ruling theocracy that wants Sabat dead.

GODCOUNTRY is an action packed science fiction thriller that would make a dynamite movie in the tradition of Star Trek and Star Wars. The protagonist of this novel has done and seen a lot of horrible things as a slave but he learns that being free comes with its own set of responsibilities because he has to please an even harder task masker: himself.

Harriet Klausner
This report prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of Godcountry

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book Descript. of chases or violence 10%planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 40%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 20%Descript. of society, phenomena (tech), places 30% Tone of book    -   suspenseful (sophisticated fear) FANTASY or SCIENCE FICTION?    -   science fiction story Spying & Investigations    -   Yes What is main char. doing?    -   rescue mission/escape from confinement Is this an adult or child's book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book Religious overtones?    -   Yes Cultural problems, alien culture    -   Yes Culture clash-    -   one culture tries to impose its culture on another group

Main Character

Identity:    -   Male Profession/status:    -   small businessman Age:    -   20's-30's

Setting

A substantial portion of this book takes place on a non-Earth planetary body:    -   humans in a futuristic society Planet outside solar system?    -   Yes

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment scientific jargon? (SF only)    -   a fair amount of scientific explanation How much dialogue?    -   significantly more dialog than descript

Books with storylines, themes & endings like Godcountry

Colleen Drippe Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or





Our Chief Librarian