Allreaders.com

The Briar King Book Review Summary

Detailed plot synopsis reviews of The Briar King



Del Rey, Jan 2003, 23.95, 566 pp.
ISBN 0345440668

Before the Age of Mankind, the Stasloi ruled the world. They forced humanity to do their bidding until Genia Dare led the successful revolt that destroyed their former masters. It is now 2,223 years after the defeat of the Skosloc and King William Dare rules Croetheny. Because his son is simple minded, he has named his three daughters as his heirs.

The kingdom is not aware of it but it is tottering on the edge of extinction. The holter of the King's forest sees strange creatures in the woods. People mysteriously murdered without a mark on them. Finally, the Briar King is awakening from his long slumber. There is a plot afoot to kill the king and queen and their three daughters so that the son will be declared the ruler controlled by the puppet master who put this devious plan in motion.

This first novel in a four book series introduces the characters and sets the stage for what is to come. Good men die and heroes fall while men and women are tested for the upcoming battles and intrigues. This is epic fantasy on a grand scale, one that will appeal to fans of Terry Brooks and David Eddings. It will seem like a long wait to readers before the next installment is published in what looks like an electrifying quartet.

Harriet Klausner
The review of this Book prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of The Briar King

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book Descript. of chases or violence 10%planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 40%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 40%Descript. of society, phenomena (tech), places 10% Tone of book    -   humorous or laughable FANTASY or SCIENCE FICTION?    -   fantasy world/fantasy past Coming of age    -   Yes Youngster becomes    -   guardian of justice Political power play    -   Yes Political plotlets    -   saving govt/kingdom from external overthrow Is this an adult or child's book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book

Main Character

Identity:    -   Female Profession/status:    -   Prince/Nobleman/King Age:    -   a teen

Setting

Earth setting:    -   during "Tolkien" (fairytime) times Takes place on Earth?    -   Yes

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment How much dialogue?    -   significantly more dialog than descript

Books with storylines, themes & endings like The Briar King

Greg Keyes Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or



Our Chief Librarian