The Slippery Slope Book Review Summary

Detailed plot synopsis reviews of The Slippery Slope

The Slippery Slope is the tenth book in the Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. Violet and Klaus follow Count Olaf into the perilous Mortmain Mountains. They find a group of kids called the "Snow Scouts" who camp out in the caves of the mountains. The siblings also find another person who is one of the missing Quagmire triplets; Quigly.

Together, they set out to find Count Olaf and their missing sister Sunny. They know that they do not have much time left. But what will happen when they find their sister? And if they do, how will the manage to escape from Count Olaf safely again?
The review of this Book prepared by alisa

Marian on 10/25/2016 9:05:05 AM says: I liked how this had a lot of funny parts, but it's not my favourite of this series. Count Olaf and Esme Gigi Genivieve Squalor are usually part of the funny moments, regardless of the fact that they are villains.

This book is about 3 orphans. The two older ones, Violet and Klaus are at the bottom of the Mortmain Mountains and the youngest, Sunny, is at the top with a villain, Count Olaf, his girlfriend and a group of assistants. On their way up, Violet and Klaus find a cave where a group of people called the 'Snow Scouts' are. One of the Snow Scouts took Violet and Klaus away from the rest of the scouts at night. That Snow Scout happened to be Quigley, one of the Quagmire triplets, who everybody thought was dead. The Quagmires are friends of Violet, Klaus and Sunny. Quigley, Violet and Klaus made their way up the mountain to save Sunny.

Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.

Chapter Analysis of The Slippery Slope

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Tone of book?    -   depressed Time/era of story    -   2000+ (Present Day) Family, struggle with    -   Yes Struggle with:    -   Uncle Is this an adult or child's book?    -   Age 11-14

Main Character

Gender    -   Male Profession/status:    -   student Age:    -   a teen Ethnicity/Nationality    -   White (American) Unusual characteristics:    -   Genius    -   Super sensitive soggy jelly muffin


How much descriptions of surroundings?    -   5 () Mountains/Cliffs    -   Yes Mountains:    -   falling off

Writing Style

Amount of dialog    -   roughly even amounts of descript and dialog

Books with storylines, themes & endings like The Slippery Slope

Lemony Snicket Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!

Our Chief Librarian