Allreaders.com

The Thunder Keeper Book Review Summary

Detailed plot synopsis reviews of The Thunder Keeper



Berkley, Sept 2001, 22.95, 288 pp.
ISBN 042518188X

    Vicky Holden loves the land of the Arapahos, the Wind River Reservation in central Wyoming, but she still leaves her home to take a job in Denver. The attorney needs to get away from the Jesuit priest Father O'Malley because they both have feelings for one other that are inappropriate. She also has to get away from her ex-husband, who wants to reconcile, but he keeps falling off the wagon and he is a mean drunk.

    In Denver, Vicky currently works on a mineral rights case on behalf of the Navaho Nation. However, she receives a call from Vince Lewis, a vice president of Balder Industries, famous for their diamond minding operations. He tells her that he has information she needs to know involving the Wind River Reservation, but before they meet a hit and run driver kills Vince.

    Back on the reservation, Father John hears the confession of a man who says his partner killed a man in a place sacred to the Arapaho. The police rule the man's death a suicide but Father John knows somebody killed him and there will be more deaths if the person isn't stopped. Vicky and Father John are coming at the same problem from different angles, both of them putting their lives in jeopardy.

    Fans of Aimee and David Thurlo and Tony Hillerman will definitely enjoy this fast paced mystery starring two likable, believable and colorful protagonists. The heroine is a role model for women everywhere and the hero not only understands the underlying concepts of justice, he abides by them in his life. THE THUNDER KEEPER by Margaret Coel is a definite keeper.

Harriet Klausner
The review of this Book prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of The Thunder Keeper

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

How difficult to spot villain?    -   Difficult, but some clues given Spying/Terrorism Thriller    -   Yes What % of story relates directly to the mystery, not the subplot?    -   40% Murder of certain profession?    -   businessmen Kid or adult book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book Crime Thriller    -   Yes Murder Mystery (killer unknown)    -   Yes General Crime (including known murderer)    -   Yes Who's the criminal enemy here?    -   finding a known killer

Main Character

Gender    -   Male Profession/status:    -   religious figure Age:    -   40's-50's

Setting

United States    -   Yes The US:    -   West

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment Amount of dialog    -   roughly even amounts of descript and dialog

Books with storylines, themes & endings like The Thunder Keeper

Margaret Coel Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or





Our Chief Librarian