Then There Were Five Book Summary and Study Guide

Detailed plot synopsis reviews of Then There Were Five

Then There Were Five is the third book about the Melendy siblings, Mona, Rush, Randy, and Oliver. But, the main character in this book is Mark Herron. Randy and Rush meet him when they go collecting scrap metal for the soldiers fighting in World War II. They meet Mark's mean uncle, Oren Meeker, who chases them off his farm, but Mark comes out and offers to give them his old wagon and tricycle. They and the rest of the family strike up a friendship with him over the summer. Mark knows a lot about nature and shows them around the farm when Oren is away.
Click here to see the rest of this review

The book is also filled with the Melendy's summer activities. Mona learns how to cook and she and Randy can food. Oliver collects caterpillers. Rush and Mark spy on Oren at his secret whisky still.

One night, a fire breaks out at Oren's farm. Although Mark is safe, they find out Oren died. The Melendy takes him in. They start to feel like Mark is part of the family. Now they just have to make it official.
The review of this Book prepared by Angela Tircuit

Chapter Analysis of Then There Were Five

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Tone of book?    -   upbeat Time/era of story    -   1930's-1950's Kids growing up/acting up?    -   Yes Is this an adult or child's book?    -   Age 11-14 Parents/lack of parents problem?    -   orphan story

Main Character

Ethnicity/Nationality    -   White (American)


United States    -   Yes

Books with storylines, themes & endings like Then There Were Five

Elizabeth Enright Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!

Our Chief Librarian