Allreaders.com

Wife of Moon Book Review Summary

Detailed Plot Synopsis of Wife of Moon



Berkley, Sept 2004, 22.95, 288 pp.
ISBN 0425198146

The murders begin in 1907 on the Arapaho Wind River Reservation when photographer Edward S. Curtis convinces the Indians to reconstruct a village and have warriors attack the tribe. During the shooting with blank bullets, Bashful Woman, the daughter of Chief Sharp Nose, is killed by a real bullet. Her Anglo husband Carston Evans testifies that he saw the Indian Thunder kill his wife and his two Native American friends were adding him in the attack. His testimony was enough to convict and hang the trio.

In the present, Denise, a descendant of Sharp Nose is murdered and her husband J.T. Painted Horse is the FBI's number one suspect until he is tortured and killed by men who were looking for something on the same night Denise died. Christine, the curator of the Arapaho Museum, disappears and her home is ransacked. Lawyer Vicky Holden and Father John O'Malley investigate the homicide from different directions, but reach the same conclusion. Vicky tries to convince the authorities who she believes is behind the murders while Father John tries to protect the last remaining witness.

Through the use of flashbacks readers learn what really happened on that day in 1907 and how justice was thwarted. The Arapaho still seek justice for Bashful Women in the present but they are up against high powered politicians who will use any means at their disposal to erase the proof of what happened almost a century ago and they will kill anyone who has knowledge of that event. WIFE OF MOON is an exciting who-done-it that will appeal to fans of Tony Hillerman and David and Aimee Thurlo thrillers. Margaret Coel provides a deep look at the Arapaho culture wrapped around a fabulous mystery.

Harriet Klausner
This report prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of Wife of Moon

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book descript. of violence and chases 10%Planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 40%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 40%How society works & physical descript. (people, objects, places) 10% Tone of story    -   suspenseful (sophisticated fear) How difficult to spot villain?    -   Very difficult--no foreshadowing/clues Time/era of story:    -   2000+ (Present) What % of story relates directly to the mystery, not the subplot?    -   80% Kind of investigator    -   no powwow with Indian killers Kid or adult book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book Crime Thriller    -   Yes Murder Mystery (killer unknown)    -   Yes

Main Character

Gender    -   Female Profession/status:    -   a lawyer creature Age:    -   20's-30's Ethnicity/Race    -   White/American

Setting

United States    -   Yes The US:    -   West

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment Amount of dialog    -   significantly more dialog than descript

Books with storylines, themes & endings like Wife of Moon

Margaret Coel Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or




Feedback


Our Chief Librarian