Allreaders.com

Dune Book Review Summary

Detailed plot synopsis reviews of Dune

This is a book about a struggle for a desert planet. Paul is the Duke's son and a family friend betrays him. Paul's father is killed. Paul escapes into the desert where he meets the mysterious Fremen people. He becomes one of them and plots revenge on his father's murderers.
The review of this Book prepared by Hermione



This is a classic heroic epic. The scion of a fallen Great House is sent to his death but escapes into exile. Under the protection of a native people, Paul Atreides grows from adolescent to man, man to leader. After a mystical transformative event, he seeks to avenge himself on his family's traditional rival and the Imperial House that together conspired to bring House Atreides down.

The Padishah Emperor, House Harkonnen, the Bene Gesserit, and the Spacing Guild all have their reasons for wanting to take Paul Atreides down... or at least bring him to heel. The Emperor controls the fierce Sarduakar but Paul Atreides controls the Spice and 'he who controls the Spice controls the universe.'

This story takes place in a richly detailed universe with complex economic, social, and religious histories. Paul Atreides is a hero in the tradition of Odyssues or Gilgamesh.

Dune is the first book in a series of six and by far the best of the lot.
The review of this Book prepared by Greg Careaga



The Duke Leto Atreides is killed by the evil Baron Harkonnen,and his son Paul,who is the Kwaisz Hederach and has psychic powers, sets out to avenge his father's death with help from the natives of the desert planet Dune, the Fremen and his mother, Lady Jessica.
The review of this Book prepared by webpenguin



A feast of spiritual ideas which opens the reader's mind to an infinity of possibilities and events that might occur in our future.
The review of this Book prepared by Lavinia



This is the story of an empire in stagnation, a royal family in the mist of treachery, of family love and loyalty, and a boy who, unbeknownst to him, is the product of centuries of breeding. This boy, upon whom destiny has placed a promise of a Godhead.   In this particular universe you will be met with the extremes distances, immeasurable populations and worlds, yet you eye will never lose sight of Arrakis for it is there that life will spring anew. It is on Arrakis that you will find that "…he who can destroy a thing, controls a thing". It is here that you will truly come to know DUNE.

Using the imagination of a JRR Tolkien and the courage of an Asimov, Hubert achieves a masterpiece in his first book of the Dune series.   He manages to create a universe based on the whims of commerce, religion, and politics. And along the way manages to bring into play the romance, treachery, and deceit that such a universe would entail. He does this by using our own human philosophical beliefs, fears and dreams…but never once throws them at you but rather lets you discern them for yourself.
The review of this Book prepared by Robert Merced



The two royal houses Atreides and Harkonens struggle for the power of Arrakis the desert planet that produces the money making melange spice. The Harkonens destroy the Atreides house and kill the Duke Leto leaving his coming of age son Paul rightful Duke; however Paul and his Bene Gesserit mother are left to be killed in the desert only to be found and harbored in the native desert fremen villages until they once again rise to power and cause a revolt taking back the seat of power.
The review of this Book prepared by Misty Dawn



Paul Atreides lads on the planet dune to take control over it with his family. Their house is destroyed and paul and his mother fight for their lives and get aid from the natives of the planet
The review of this Book prepared by Andreas B. Steen



A particularly fine blend of sci-fi and fantasy, of great scope and depth. The two royal houses of Atreides and Harkonnen vie for the desert planet Arrakis, source of the fabulous spice melange, which gives long life and great powers. The 'created worlds' in which the rivalries are fought out have history, prophecy, powerfully drawn characters of mythic power, and a variety and depth not often seen in science fiction. This is no mere 'space opera', but a creative fiction of a high order. It may not be in doubt that the young Paul Atreides will ultimately triumph, but the how and why will take your breath away.
The review of this Book prepared by Michael JR Jose



Paul, the Ducal heir to House Atredies, and his family are forced to rule over the planet Arrakis, where they are thrust into a world of political intrigue, betrayal, and revenge.
The review of this Book prepared by Jat



Paul Atriedes is a young boy who is thrust into the mantle of both man hood and god hood. For Paul is the Quizate Haderak the universes super being. It is a blessing and a curse. Paul is able to see into the future and teh past lives of all who have ever been. And it is in this that he sees the path which humanity is on. Iit is a path that will lead to the end of Humanity. Now into this throw a 1000yr old blood fued that becomes a family fued. And a fanatical Army and a profecy that will shake the very foundation of the universe.....Oh yeah and don't forget the drug addiction, power play's and intrigue. All in all a great book.
The review of this Book prepared by alexander t eteuati



Paul Astreides is taken from his earth like home planet of Calandan to the desert planet of Arrakis (Dune)where his father is to become the Duke. His father is killed through treachery and he and his mother escape into the desert to make their way among the Freemen, desert dwellers. Paul must take back controle of Arrakis from the Baron who caused his father's death and prove to both the Emperor and the Freemen that he should rule the planet which his father once governed.
The review of this Book prepared by Ashley B.



Arrakis, Dune, Desert planet. The only Planet in the universe that contains the spice Melange. The Harkonnens have controled it for the longest time, Now the Atredies take over all a lot by the emperor to destroy this great family...will he sucessed?
The review of this Book prepared by Lady Raven








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of Dune

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book Descript. of chases or violence 10%planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 30%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 20%Descript. of society, phenomena (tech), places 40% Tone of book    -   depressing/sad FANTASY or SCIENCE FICTION?    -   science fiction story Coming of age    -   Yes Youngster becomes    -   ruler Political power play    -   Yes Political plotlets    -   overthrowing govt/kingdom Inner Struggle    -   Yes Plotlet:    -   coping with mental/magical powers Is this an adult or child's book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book

Main Character

Identity:    -   Male Profession/status:    -   Prince/Nobleman/King Age:    -   a teen If magical mental powers:    -   can see into the future

Setting

Terrain    -   Desert A substantial portion of this book takes place on a non-Earth planetary body:    -   humans in a futuristic society    -   humans in a primitive/fantasy society    -   empty, or nearly empty world    -   very controlled society Planet outside solar system?    -   Yes

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   moderately detailed references to deaths Sex in book?    -   Yes How much dialogue?    -   roughly even amounts of descript and dialog

Books with storylines, themes & endings like Dune

Frank Herbert Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or





Our Chief Librarian