Allreaders.com

Masks of Murder Book Review Summary

Detailed Plot Synopsis of Masks of Murder



J. Press, Oct 2003, 24.95, 358 pp.
ISBN 1930922043

Zeke Mallard is a detective on the White Bear Lake Police Department (a Twin Cities' suburb). Inside his garage, Zeke is bending, trying to get his groceries from his car when suddenly someone stabs him in the back and when he's incapacitated in the chest and leg.

Andrew White planned to shoot Zeke for messing around with his ex-girlfriend and sees the small-stature man go in and leave with a bloody knife and bloody cloth. He walks into the garage and finds Zeke dead. He hightails it out of there because he knows that the police will want to pin the crime on him. At the funeral, Andrew's ex-girlfriend comes to the attention of Zeke's partner Detective Lanslow. The cop learns that Andrew threatened Zeke for taking Rosario away from him. Andrew sees the man who killed Zeke and informs Lanslow as the killer strikes again. Lanslow finds the body of a wino and realizes the same person that killed Zeke committed this homicide. He looks elsewhere for a suspect and stumbles across information that will turn the case into a media circus because the circumstances that made him kill are bizarre.

Lanslow is shocked that his good friend and partner cheated on his wife and had a secret life that he knew nothing about. C.C. Canby has written an exciting police procedural in the tradition of Christine McGuire and Paul Bishop.

Harriet Klausner
This report prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of Masks of Murder

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book descript. of violence and chases 10%Planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 40%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 30%How society works & physical descript. (people, objects, places) 20% Tone of story    -   suspenseful (sophisticated fear) How difficult to spot villain?    -   Difficult, but some clues given Time/era of story:    -   2000+ (Present) What % of story relates directly to the mystery, not the subplot?    -   70% Kind of investigator    -   police procedural, American Kid or adult book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book Crime Thriller    -   Yes Murder Mystery (killer unknown)    -   Yes

Main Character

Gender    -   Male Profession/status:    -   police/lawman Age:    -   20's-30's Ethnicity/Race    -   White/American

Setting

United States    -   Yes The US:    -   Midwest

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment Amount of dialog    -   significantly more dialog than descript

Books with storylines, themes & endings like Masks of Murder

C.C. Canby Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or





Our Chief Librarian