Allreaders.com

The One Year Book Review Summary

Detailed plot synopsis reviews of The One Year

Sean McNulty, a well-to-do trust fund kid from Long Island's North Shore leaves Georgetown University for a year abroad to study at Trinity College in Dublin. Sean eagerly escapes the watchful eye of his power-broker father who runs America's largest defense contracting company, Technical Defense Systems (TDS), to go to Ireland. Once in Dublin Sean takes to the West-Brit old boy network on campus that he meets through the crew team--which reminds him of his well-heeled life back in the States. Sean, however, also falls in love with a beautiful Dublin girl who is also from the right side of the tracks (or the Liffey in this case) but righteously rebels against her parents' capitalist ways, West-brit traditions on campus, and just about every social inequality she and her mates can protest.

Sean masterfully enjoys the best of both worlds on campus until his collegiate radicalism with his beautiful but rebellious girfriend and the rest of the "campus commies" become fuel for a blackmail plot against Sean to obtain military secrets from his father's defense company back on Long Island. It is the 1989-90 school year and the map of Europe changes weekly with the fall and rise of new regimes.

Sean's blackmailer's are anarchists and neo-marxists who will stop at nothing to keep former Soviet Republics from turning to capitalism. Sean and his friends must match wits with radicals and mercinaries on their own because his father is the fight of his life to ward-off President Bush's investigations into the defense industry, corporate raiders threatening to takeover TDS. All the while Mr. McNulty is managing a multi-billion dollar empire (in the tradition of Parmalat or Enron) that is shrinking due to the peace dividend of Glasnost and the break up of the Soviet Empire.
The review of this Book prepared by Brian J. Gorman








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Get your copy of the book

Chapter Analysis of The One Year

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book descript. of violence and chases 20%Planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 20%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 40%How society works & physical descript. (people, objects, places) 20% Tone of story    -   suspenseful (sophisticated fear) Time/era of story:    -   1980's-1999 Spying/Terrorism Thriller    -   Yes Cloak & Dagger Plotlets:    -   stopping a saboteur/spy Kid or adult book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book Who's the terrorist enemy here?    -   spy ring Search for technology?    -   special war tech.

Main Character

Gender    -   Male Profession/status:    -   student Age:    -   a teen Ethnicity/Race    -   White/American

Setting

Europe    -   Yes European country:    -   Ireland Misc setting    -   fancy mansion

Books with storylines, themes & endings like The One Year

Brian J. Gorman Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or







Our Chief Librarian