Allreaders.com

Command Performance Book Review Summary

Detailed plot synopsis reviews of Command Performance



Novel Books, May 2002, 300 pp.
ISBN 1591060808

The coalition-Triad war is over and now the former enemies are allies against the Illithians who want to rule the universe. Former coalition captain Tasha “Sass” Sebastian commands the spaceship Vaxxar, second in power to Triad Admiral Kel-Paten, who is part human and part cyborg. Sass doesn't know it but Kel-Paten, who isn't supposed to have any feelings, is in love with her.

Pirate Jace Serafino, a renegade telepath, is beamed aboard the Vaxxar when his ship is destroyed in a space war. He is a wanted man in the alliance because he was coerced into working as an undercover agent for them in their war against the Illithians but disappeared before he could deliver anything really useful to them. Jace has let himself become caught by his enemies because he has knowledge of a plot by the Illithians to conquer by stealth what they could not take by force. Now he has to convince his most deadly enemy the Admiral that he is telling the truth and he needs Sass's help to do it. Then they must try to stop the intrigue before they are killed because both Sass and her admiral are marked for assassination.

COMMAND PERFORMANCE is a space opera in the tradition of Star Trek and Star Wars, complete with romantic heroes, dashing rogues, evil aliens and adorable space pets called furzels. The protagonists of this novel are well drawn and easily engage reader interest and empathy even as the plot races at hyperspeed. Linnea Sinclair raises the bar of excellence in science fiction romance several notches.

Harriet Klausner
The review of this Book prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of Command Performance

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book Descript. of chases or violence 10%planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 50%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 30%Descript. of society, phenomena (tech), places 10% Tone of book    -   suspenseful (sophisticated fear) FANTASY or SCIENCE FICTION?    -   science fiction story Romance    -   Yes Spying & Investigations    -   Yes What is main char. doing?    -   finding an assassin (political) Is this an adult or child's book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book

Main Character

Identity:    -   Female Profession/status:    -   fighter (air/space) pilot Age:    -   20's-30's

Setting

Spaceship setting:    -   really, really giant spaceship/station Takes place in spaceship?    -   Yes

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment scientific jargon? (SF only)    -   an average amount of scientific explanation How much dialogue?    -   mostly dialog

Books with storylines, themes & endings like Command Performance

Linnea Sinclair Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or







Our Chief Librarian