Allreaders.com

Domain Book Review Summary

Detailed Plot Synopsis of Domain

Mayan myth says that the world will end on the winter solstice in 2012. The fate of the world depends on one man, Michael Gabriel. Unfortunately for the world, Gabriel has spent the last decade locked up in a psychiatric hospital by a powerful, and vindictive enemy. It is up to Dominique Vasquez to free Gabriel so he can prevent the destruction of the world, though it is not until much later that they realize the price they will have to pay to do so.
This report prepared by Samer Ismail





Forge, Feb 2001, 25.95, 379 pp.
ISBN: 0312874766

    Over three decades, archeologist Julius Gabriel investigated the theory that the Mayan calendar foretold the Apocalypse and ancient edifices were a global puzzle with the solution to saving the world. His peers laugh at Julius, thinking the so-called scientist is a paranoid lunatic for seeking ties between Stonehenge, the Giza Pyramid, and other similar sites.

    After Julius dies, his son Michael is taken away for attacking a former colleague now Secretary of State, Pierre Borgia. Under psychological observation, Michael persuades Dominque Vazquez that he is not only sane, but that the doomsday clock is ticking down its final days. Together, they forge a team trying to heave a Hail Mary pass that will thwart the evil alien conspiracy to destroy mankind even while government officials want them locked away or better yet dead.

    DOMAIN is surprisingly an exciting, well-written science fiction-fantasy that works because the key characters seem genuine and the magical elements appear real. The story line entrenches the Biblical apocalypse predictions with Mayan myths into quite an action tale. Fans of SF, Fantasy, and end of the world novels will want to read Steve Alten's latest book that is the opening gamut of hopefully a powerful series reminiscent of the Invaders with an ancient mythos lending strong support.

Harriet Klausner
This report prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of Domain

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book Descript. of chases or violence 20%planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 30%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 40%Descript. of society, phenomena (tech), places 10% Tone of book    -   suspenseful (sophisticated fear) FANTASY or SCIENCE FICTION?    -   science fiction story Tech./$$$/Info hunt    -   Yes Stealing/recovering/destroying    -   info about lifeform(s)/society/phenomena Is this an adult or child's book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book

Main Character

Identity:    -   Male Profession/status:    -   scientist Age:    -   20's-30's

Setting

Terrain    -   Jungle    -   Water    -   Forests Earth setting:    -   20th century    -   current (early 21st century) Takes place on Earth?    -   Yes

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment scientific jargon? (SF only)    -   some scientific explanation    -   a moderate amount of scientific explanation Sex in book?    -   Yes What kind of sex:    -   vague references only    -   descript of kissing How much dialogue?    -   roughly even amounts of descript and dialog    -   significantly more descript than dialog

Books with storylines, themes & endings like Domain

Steve Alten Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or




Feedback


Our Chief Librarian