Allreaders.com

Grudge Match Book Review Summary

Detailed plot synopsis reviews of Grudge Match



Forge, June 2004, 25.95, 880 pp.
ISBN 0765308924

Eight years ago San Antonio assistant district attorney Chris Sinclair proved to a jury that Detective Steve Greerdon participated in an armed robbery. Steve insisted he was set up by other police officers who wanted Steve to join their little club of ripping off drug dealers and other lowlifes, but he refused so he took the fall for a crime he never committed. Chris, now the District Attorney, finds DNA evidence and a witnesses exonerating Steve who is pardoned.

Steve wants to reconnect with his son and enjoy his freedom but the police officers who set him up want him back in prison. Chris doesn't know who to trust on the force and sets a tail on Steve so he always has an alibi. Meanwhile Chris's lover, psychiatrist Anne Greenwald treats a patient who says Steve is guilty. When two police officers are murdered and Steve is on the scene, Chris has doubts about his innocence. The only way to find out who the dirty cops are is to set up a sting if Steve is willing to risk his life and trust an officer of the court who could put him away again.

When it comes to writing innovative and exciting legal thrillers, Jay Brandon is one of the best in the business. His latest protagonist seeks truth at any cost yet for all his years as a lawyer has a touch of innocence that readers will cherish. The walls of blue start off solid but by the time GRUDGE MATCH ends a few cracks give readers hope that the police will speak out when they see wrong doing. Fans of Linda Fairstein and Christine McGuire will definitely love this book.

Harriet Klausner
The review of this Book prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of Grudge Match

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book descript. of violence and chases 10%Planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 40%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 40%How society works & physical descript. (people, objects, places) 10% Tone of story    -   suspenseful (sophisticated fear) Time/era of story:    -   2000+ (Present) Kid or adult book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book Legal Thriller    -   Yes Legal Plotlets    -   finding out whether someone is really guilty Crime Thriller    -   Yes Crime plotlets:    -   wrongly convicted clearing his name General Crime (including known murderer)    -   Yes Who's the criminal enemy here?    -   police gone bad

Main Character

Gender    -   Male Profession/status:    -   a lawyer creature Age:    -   20's-30's Ethnicity/Race    -   White/American

Setting

United States    -   Yes The US:    -   Texas

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment Amount of dialog    -   significantly more dialog than descript

Books with storylines, themes & endings like Grudge Match

Jay Brandon Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or



Our Chief Librarian