Allreaders.com

Requiem for the Sun Book Review Summary

Detailed Plot Synopsis of Requiem for the Sun



Tor, Sept 2002, 27.95, 480 pp.
ISBN: 0312878842

After all the battles, adventures and trials Rhapsody the singer, Achmed the Firbolg king, and Grunthor his Sergeant-Major have gone through, they are now at peace with themselves and the world around them. Achmed and Grunthor are rebuilding the once mighty civilization in the ruins of Ylorc. Rhapsody and her husband Ashe, who is part human and part dragon, are the titular rulers of the loosely federated Cymrian Alliance. None of them see trouble coming but it is out there waiting to ambush them.

In a time long ago in a place that no longer exists, Rhapsody pledged her love to the seneschal Michael to prevent him from harming innocents. Now he has come back for her and has taken her against her will, leaving it up to her husband and her two friends to rescue her, if they can.

This sequel to the Rhapsody trilogy is epic fantasy in the tradition of Tolkien and Terry Brooks. It also sets the stage for future works set in this fantasy world dealing with the Cymrian Alliance and the disintegration of the Sorbold Empire. REQUIEM FOR THE SUN is filled with romance, sword and sorcery battles, and political upheaval in a world that briefly knew peace. Elizabeth Haydon is a master storyteller who has cross-genre appeal.

Harriet Klausner
This report prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of Requiem for the Sun

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book Descript. of chases or violence 10%planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 30%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 30%Descript. of society, phenomena (tech), places 30% Tone of book    -   suspenseful (sophisticated fear) FANTASY or SCIENCE FICTION?    -   fantasy world/fantasy past Spying & Investigations    -   Yes What is main char. doing?    -   rescue mission/escape from confinement Is this an adult or child's book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book

Main Character

Identity:    -   Female Profession/status:    -   champion of justice Age:    -   20's-30's

Setting

Earth setting:    -   during "Tolkien" (fairytime) times Takes place on Earth?    -   Yes

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment How much dialogue?    -   significantly more dialog than descript

Books with storylines, themes & endings like Requiem for the Sun

Elizabeth Haydon Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or




Feedback


Our Chief Librarian