Allreaders.com

Brainwaves Book Review Summary

Detailed Plot Synopsis of Brainwaves



Signet, Nov 2002, 6.99, 416 pp.
ISBN 0451207386

Forensic pathologist Dr. Joanna Blalock is highly regarded in her field and frequently works with the police when their jobs overlap. Her favorite homicide detective to work with is her friend and live-in lover Jake Sinclair. They are now working together on the case of Dr. Karen Crandell, a neurologist who was found dead in her office. At first all signs point to a suicide, but Jake and Joanna soon figure out that somebody killed her but made it look like a realistic suicide.

Dr. Crandell was working on some cutting edge research that has mysteriously disappeared. Jake and Joanna are able to trace the theft and the killing to her colleague at the Brain Research Institution at Memorial Hospital but from there the trail goes cold. Joanna and Jake set a trap to catch a murderer, but can only hope he takes the bait.

Fans of Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs are going to like BRAINWAVES, a cutting edge medical thriller based on actual ongoing research. The mystery itself is fast paced and exciting but what makes this novel a scalpel cut above the rest is the way current technology is interposed throughout the story line, giving it a futuristic feel without slowing down the pace.

Harriet Klausner
This report prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of Brainwaves

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book descript. of violence and chases 10%Planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 50%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 30%How society works & physical descript. (people, objects, places) 10% Tone of story    -   suspenseful (sophisticated fear) How difficult to spot villain?    -   Difficult, but some clues given Time/era of story:    -   2000+ (Present) Medical Thriller    -   Yes Medical Plotlets:    -   wild experiments on people    -   bio manip. to get new abilities    -   bad docs cutting corners What % of story relates directly to the mystery, not the subplot?    -   60% Kind of investigator    -   police procedural, American Kid or adult book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book Any non-mystery subplot?    -   feelings towards family/friends Crime Thriller    -   Yes Murder Mystery (killer unknown)    -   Yes

Main Character

Gender    -   Female Profession/status:    -   doctor Age:    -   20's-30's Ethnicity/Race    -   White/American

Setting

United States    -   Yes The US:    -   West

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment Amount of dialog    -   significantly more dialog than descript

Books with storylines, themes & endings like Brainwaves

Leonard Goldberg Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or





Our Chief Librarian