Allreaders.com

McNally's Alibi Book Review Summary

Detailed plot synopsis reviews of McNally's Alibi



Putnam, Aug 2002, 24.95, 309 pp.
ISBN: 0399148795

Renowned collector Deci Fortesque hires Palm Beach private sleuth Archy McNally to find an alleged original complete text of Truman Capote's Answered Prayers. Archy quickly learns that Claudia Lester asserted that she possessed the manuscript, but her former lover Matthew Harrigan stole it from her. Matthew insists he took nothing and that Claudia is just a former lover causing him trouble.

Antiques dealer Rodney Whitehead informs the sleuth that neither Claudia nor Matthew is credible, not that Rodney is any better. The search turns nasty when the supposed owner of the Capote manuscript is found dead in the sleazy Crescent Hotel not long after Archy visited the place. Police Lieutenant Georgia O'Hara knows Archy is holding out on her, but he refuses to reveal anything that might interfere with completing his client's assignment as the fee is too good.

When Lawrence Sanders died a few years ago and Vincent Lardo took over the McNally franchise, this reviewer howled about another series of lite books. Several novels later, this reviewer still howls that Mr. Sanders would have been proud to claim the Lardo books as his own. The latest MCNALLY'S ALIBI is a strong novel containing an intriguing investigative story line and three women making Archy's life miserable in different ways. Fans of Mr. Sanders, McNally, or a strong private investigative novel will want to read Mr. Lardo's latest take and like this reviewer demand early release of another Arch book ASAP.

Harriet Klausner
The review of this Book prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of McNally's Alibi

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book descript. of violence and chases 10%Planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 70%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 10%How society works & physical descript. (people, objects, places) 10% Tone of story    -   suspenseful (sophisticated fear) How difficult to spot villain?    -   Very difficult--no foreshadowing/clues Time/era of story:    -   2000+ (Present) What % of story relates directly to the mystery, not the subplot?    -   60% Kind of investigator    -   hard boiled/private eye Kid or adult book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book Any non-mystery subplot?    -   feelings towards lover Crime Thriller    -   Yes Murder Mystery (killer unknown)    -   Yes

Main Character

Gender    -   Male Profession/status:    -   private investigator Age:    -   40's-50's Ethnicity/Race    -   White/American

Setting

United States    -   Yes The US:    -   Southeast

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment Amount of dialog    -   significantly more dialog than descript

Books with storylines, themes & endings like McNally's Alibi

Lawrence Sanders and Vincent Lardo Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or





Our Chief Librarian