Allreaders.com

Thicker Than Water Book Review Summary

Detailed Plot Synopsis of Thicker Than Water



Pinnacle, Jan 2003, 6.99, 368 pp.
ISBN 0786014202

Two decades ago Jack Cade was convicted of raping and murdering fifteen-year-old Kitty Jagger as his pick axe was the murder weapon and her bloody panties with his blood type were found on in his truck. Rather than go to trial and risk the Florida electric chair, he pleaded guilty to manslaughter and was sentenced to twenty years in the state pen. He served his sentence and is released from prison.

A few days after gaining his freedom, the police arrest Jack for the murder of his defense attorney Spencer Duvall. Ronnie Cade hires unlicensed private investigator Louis Kincaid to find evidence to clear his father. After gaining access to all the evidence, Louis is convince that Jack Cade did not do the current homicide or kill Kitty Jagger. He embarks upon a quest to find Kitty's killer, one that if he's successful he believes will clear Jack on both murder charges. When Louis is able to put all the pieces of the puzzle together, he vows to see that justice occurs though it means breaking the laws he was once swore to uphold.

THICKER THAN WATER is a fast-paced crime thriller that starts out at hyperspeed and never eases off the throttle. The protagonist is an honorable person who believes that justice needs assistance because the law is not always right which is one of the reasons he no longer wears a badge. There are plenty of suspects for both crimes including Jack, but it isn't until the last chapter that the real killer is revealed. P.J. Parrish's novels will appeal to readers who like James Patterson and Michael Connelly.

Harriet Klausner
This report prepared by Harriet Klausner








Please enter the number 42 plus two in the right box.
    

Chapter Analysis of Thicker Than Water

Click on a plot link to find similar books!

Plot & Themes

Composition of Book descript. of violence and chases 10%Planning/preparing, gather info, debate puzzles/motives 60%Feelings, relationships, character bio/development 20%How society works & physical descript. (people, objects, places) 10% Tone of story    -   suspenseful (sophisticated fear) How difficult to spot villain?    -   Very difficult--no foreshadowing/clues Time/era of story:    -   2000+ (Present) What % of story relates directly to the mystery, not the subplot?    -   60% Kind of investigator    -   hard boiled/private eye Kid or adult book?    -   Adult or Young Adult Book Crime Thriller    -   Yes Murder Mystery (killer unknown)    -   Yes

Main Character

Gender    -   Male Profession/status:    -   private investigator Age:    -   20's-30's Ethnicity/Race    -   White/American

Setting

United States    -   Yes The US:    -   Southeast

Writing Style

Accounts of torture and death?    -   generic/vague references to death/punishment Amount of dialog    -   significantly more dialog than descript

Books with storylines, themes & endings like Thicker Than Water

P.J. Parrish Books Note: the views expressed here are only those of the reviewer(s).
2 Ways to Search!
Or




Feedback


Our Chief Librarian